Through The Ever Night (Under The Never Sky #2)

Read my review for Under the Never Sky #1 before continuing. This review contains spoilers.

General Information

Title: Through The Never Sky (#2 of 3 from the Never Sky series)
Author: Veronica Rossi
Original language: English
Publication: 2013

Summary

Aria is back on the outside, and this time she’s on a mission to find the Still Blue. She rejoins with Perry after months of being apart, but unfortunately the Tides won’t accept her as one of their own. She leaves with Roar for the Horns’ land, in search of information about the Still Blue and in hoes of rescuing Liv. Perry stays back with the Tides and tried to balance his duties as Blood Lord and his heart. With the Aether becoming more and more dangerous, will the star-crossed lovers be reunited in time, or will the elements get to them first?

Review

Roar. Roar. Roar.

description

My heart, I can’t. I feel like I’m tethered to Roar the same way Perry is to Aria. Honest to god, I hate Liv. She’s so flat and unidimensional. I wish she’d gone through and married Sable, I would have had more respect for her if she had.

I couldn’t stand Perry’s whining anymore. I was really disappointed with him. He was really cool and strong in book 1, and here he was reduced to a whimpering, sniveling pile of anxieties. He’s Blood Lord for god’s sake! I wanted the boy to shape up and show everyone why he deserves to be Blood Lord. Ultimately, everything that he “accomplished” was because of either Reef, Marron or Kirra. He didn’t actually do anything on his own… I’m so frustrated with how his character developed. Come on bro,

description

His short fling with Kirra was so so so predictable. I was wondering when a female sniffer Scire would appear and turn his world around. He was so hung up on Aria (and uncertain of her feelings for him (like really Perry?)) that he let himself be swept up by hormones and ended up being a typical white boi. So disappointed.

Aria was pretty cool, I love how she supports Roar like he’s the most precious being in her life. I kinda ship it more than Aria/Perry. Roar and Aria understand each other and have more moments of tenderness than with their “destined” partners. Aria/Perry and Roar/Liv are both very physical relationships in my opinion. Whereas Aria/Roar actually has weight and meaning. Obviously this ship is never going to happen, but I still think it makes more sense. I’ll proudly steer this ship down to it’s watery grave.

description

BUT ANYWAY,

Where was the sense of danger? I din’t feel that there was any real threat to their lives. The Aether is *vaguely* worrisome, but Sable and Hess are as evil as newborn babies. I guess they didn’t get the memo on how to be a successful villain. Soren is neat, I liked him in the first book and I’m happy he’s become an ally.

I’m pretty sure I can predict the plot of book 3 but, I’ll give it a shot anyway. My predictions:

  • Liv is still alive and will miraculously be sparred from marrying Sable. He’s already said that he doesn’t want her anymore.
  • Sable will die (at Roar’s hand most likely)
  • Apparently there are a bunch of kids like Cinder from another pod, Perry and Aria will possibly go after them and try to figure out how to get through the Aether hurricane to reach the Still Blue.
  • We know that the Still Blue is in the ocean, so it’s probably a huge inhabited city on an island. I’m 1000% sure that there are already people living there.
  • I’m sensing that Brooke and Soren are going to hook up. They’re compatible in how cray they are.

Let’s see how right (or wrong) I am in my predictions.

description

Final Verdict

4-star

Leave a Reply

